The article:

Nuke treaty ratification appears out of reach

By Martha M. Hamilton, David G. Taylor
Published on Monday, August 29th, 2011 at 2:01 p.m.

The Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty essentially says that participating countries should neither detonate nuclear weapons nor support others that do so. The treaty was created after a vote in United Nations General Assembly. Of 195 member states, 154 have signed and ratified the treaty -- the latest being Ghana on June 14, 2011.

The treaty cannot officially go into effect until all 44 countries listed in Annex 2 of the treaty ratify it. The nine holdouts are India, Pakistan, Israel, China, Iran, Indonesia, North Korea, Egypt and the United States.

Since 1999, when former President Bill Clinton failed to secure a two-thirds majority of the Senate to approve the treaty, a great deal of bipartisan support has emerged for ratification. But the political realities going into the 2012 election make ratification unlikely during the current administration, so we rated this promise Broken

About this article:


See promise update.

Researchers: Martha M. Hamilton, David G. Taylor

How to contact us:

We want to hear your suggestions and comments.

For tips or comments on our Obameter and our GOP-Pledge-O-Meter promise databases, please e-mail the Obameter. If you are commenting on a specific promise, please include the wording of the promise.

For comments about our Truth-O-Meter or Flip-O-Meter items, please e-mail the Truth-O-Meter. We’re especially interested in seeing any chain e-mails you receive that you would like us to check out. If you send us a comment, we'll assume you don't mind us publishing it unless you tell us otherwise.

Browse The Truth-O-MeterTM: