Stand up for the facts!

Our only agenda is to publish the truth so you can be an informed participant in democracy.
We need your help.

More Info

I would like to contribute

Elaine Marshall takes the stage after winning the Democratic primary runoff in 2010. (WRAL) Elaine Marshall takes the stage after winning the Democratic primary runoff in 2010. (WRAL)

Elaine Marshall takes the stage after winning the Democratic primary runoff in 2010. (WRAL)

Paul Specht
By Paul Specht February 2, 2021

Elaine Marshall has won more statewide races than anyone alive in North Carolina

If Your Time is short

  • Former candidate Jenna Wadsworth said Elaine Marshall has won more statewide elections than anyone else alive in North Carolina.
  • Marshall has won seven terms as Secretary of State.
  • A handful of current and former politicians have won five statewide elections, but no one living has won as many as Marshall.

Former North Carolina agriculture commissioner candidate Jenna Wadsworth says Secretary of State Elaine Marshall has an unparalleled political record.

"Sec. Marshall has won more statewide races than probably anyone else alive in NC at this point or is damn close," Wadsworth tweeted.

Wadsworth tweeted the claim as part of a message urging Democrats to consider the strength of female candidates before moving ahead with another white male nominee for U.S. Senate.

The current seat holder, Republican Richard Burr, says he won’t seek reelection in 2022. The same day as her tweet, state Sen. Jeff Jackson announced his candidacy for U.S. Senate.

We wondered: Is it true that Secretary of State Elaine Marshall has won more statewide races in North Carolina than anyone alive?

Wadsworth said she was thinking of not only general elections but also primaries when she tweeted her claim about Marshall. 

However, we’ll focus on general elections for a couple reasons. For one, in North Carolina, primaries aren’t open to every voter. We also found it difficult to find official primary records dating back several decades. 

So we scrolled through internet archives, reached out to the state’s political parties and consulted UNC School of Government Librarian Alex Hess. It appears Wadsworth is right.

The "statewide" part means we’re only looking at U.S. senators, governors, Council of State members, and judges. And the "alive" part is key. 

Elected seven times

If you consider all candidates living or dead, Marshall does not hold the record for winning the most statewide elections in North Carolina. That record likely belongs to the late Thad Eure, who was elected secretary of state 13 times and served for 53 years. The late former agriculture commissioner Jim Graham, who won nine times, appears to have won the second-most statewide races.

Marshall, 75, has been elected secretary of state seven times dating back to 1996.

She ran for U.S. Senate twice, losing the Democratic primary in 2002, and then winning a primary runoff in 2010 but losing to Burr in the general election.

When it comes to statewide races won, Marshall’s closest competitor appears to be Gov. Roy Cooper. Cooper has won six statewide races dating back to 2000. Before winning gubernatorial races in 2020 and 2016, voters elected Cooper attorney general four times.

Featured Fact-check

If we consider primaries, Marshall appears to be tied for winning the most races for statewide office. 

When we include the three primaries Marshall has won, her tally comes to 10 victories for statewide election. When Cooper’s four primaries are counted, he also lands at 10 statewide wins. Former Gov. Jim Hunt has also won 10, if you count each of the primaries he won prior to winning four terms as governor and one as lieutenant governor. 

Before Hunt’s tenure, governors could only serve one term and were not allowed to run for reelection. 

Other notable North Carolinians

Incumbency has served top North Carolinians well through the years. Here’s a brief rundown of notable current and former politicians who have won multiple statewide races.

U.S. Senators: The late Jesse Helms was elected to Senate five times and served for 40 years.

Burr won three terms and Thom Tillis has won two terms in the U.S. Senate. Prior to running for Senate, neither ran a statewide race. 

Other recent senators -- Kay Hagan, Elizabeth Dole, John Edwards, Lauch Faircloth -- each one a single term.

Governors: Of North Carolina’s other living former governors, Mike Easley won the most statewide races. He won two terms for governor and two for attorney general. Former Gov. Jim Martin won two terms, while Pat McCrory and Bev Perdue each served a single term. Perdue, for her part, also won two terms as lieutenant governor.

Council of State: Several commissioners and Council of State members have won five or more statewide races. 

The late Jim Long won six terms as insurance commissioner. Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler has won five terms in a row dating back to 2004. Cherie Berry won five terms as labor commissioner before retiring in 2020. Rufus Edmisten won three races for attorney general and two for secretary of state.

Judges: North Carolina judges are unlikely to ever reach Eure’s record — or even Marshall’s mark — because they serve eight-year terms and are legally blocked from working full-time beyond age 72.

Linda McGee last month retired as the longest serving Court of Appeals judge in state history, winning three races after being appointed in 1995.

Our ruling

Wadsworth said Marshall "has won more statewide races than probably anyone else alive in NC at this point."

It appears she’s right. We rate this claim True.

Our Sources

Tweet by former North Carolina Agriculture Commissioner candidate Jenna Wadsworth on Jan. 26, 2021.

Email and telephone interviews with Alex Hess, librarian for the UNC School of Government.

Email correspondence with Tim Wigginton, press secretary for the North Carolina Republican Party.

Email correspondence with Kate Frauenfelder, communications director for the North Carolina Democratic Party.

Story by the Southeast FarmPress, "‘Sodfather Jim Graham dies at 82," posted Nov. 26, 2003.

Story by Southern Farm Network, "Troxler wins fifth term as NC commissioner," posted Nov. 4, 2020.

Story by the Associated Press, "Cherie Berry, the ‘elevator lady,’ won’t seek reelection," posted April 2, 2019.

Stories by WRAL, "As expected, Jackson jumps into 2022 US Senate race for Democrats," posted Jan. 26, 2021; "Conservative icon Jesse Helms dead at 86," posted July 4, 2008;  "Former N.C. insurance commissioner Long dies," posted Feb. 2, 2009.

Press release by the North Carolina Judicial Branch, "Chief Judge Linda McGee and Judge Wanda Bryant retire from the North Carolina Court of Appeals," published Dec. 31, 2020.

Biographical information on for North Carolina politicians Thad Eure, Rufus Edmisten, Cherie Berry, Jim Hunt, Elaine Marshall, and others.

North Carolina state laws pertaining to age limits for justices and judges.

Browse the Truth-O-Meter

More by Paul Specht

Elaine Marshall has won more statewide races than anyone alive in North Carolina

Support independent fact-checking.
Become a member!

In a world of wild talk and fake news, help us stand up for the facts.

Sign me up