Stand up for facts and support PolitiFact.

Now is your chance to go on the record as supporting trusted, factual information by joining PolitiFact’s Truth Squad. Contributions or gifts to PolitiFact, which is part of the 501(c)(3) nonprofit Poynter Institute, are tax deductible.

More Info

I would like to contribute

Nuke treaty ratification appears out of reach
Martha M. Hamilton
By Martha M. Hamilton August 29, 2011
By David G. Taylor August 29, 2011

The Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty essentially says that participating countries should neither detonate nuclear weapons nor support others that do so. The treaty was created after a vote in United Nations General Assembly. Of 195 member states, 154 have signed and ratified the treaty -- the latest being Ghana on June 14, 2011.

The treaty cannot officially go into effect until all 44 countries listed in Annex 2 of the treaty ratify it. The nine holdouts are India, Pakistan, Israel, China, Iran, Indonesia, North Korea, Egypt and the United States.

Since 1999, when former President Bill Clinton failed to secure a two-thirds majority of the Senate to approve the treaty, a great deal of bipartisan support has emerged for ratification. But the political realities going into the 2012 election make ratification unlikely during the current administration, so we rated this promise Broken

Sign Up For Our Weekly Newsletter

Our Sources

See promise update.

Browse the Truth-O-Meter

More by Martha M. Hamilton

Nuke treaty ratification appears out of reach